Help and frequently asked questions

Are there different types of glaucoma?


There are various types but the main type that your optician will screen for using a tonometer is primary open-angle glaucoma or chronic glaucoma. This type is characterised by a gradual increase in the intraocular pressure.

Other types of glaucoma include acute glaucoma, which occurs when there's a sudden blockage of flow of the intraocular fluid; secondary glaucoma, which is a rise in the pressure of the fluid in the eye as a consequence of another eye condition; and developmental glaucoma. This last kind is extremely rare and occurs when a baby's eyes are not formed correctly within the womb.

Was this answer helpful?

We recommend you seek professional advice if you are concerned about your eye health

Request an eye test

Search for more answers: